International conference on spinocerebellar degenerations supported by EPHE

The Neurogenetics Team of the EPHE supported the International conference on spinocerebellar degenerations organized at the Brain and Spine Institute, CHU Pitié-Salpêtrière, Paris, France (June 11-13, 2013)


Images and programme of the event are available here.

The meeting, organized by Alexandra Durr, Holm Grassner and Giovanni Stevanin, gathered together some international experts such as Huda Zoghbi (Houston, USA), Margaret Robinson (Cambridge, UK), Evan Reid (Cambridge, UK), Craig Blackstone (NIH, USA), Henry Houlden (London, UK), Giorgio Casari (Milan, Italy), Elena Rugarli (Kholn, Allemagne), Stephan Zuchner (Miami, USA)  …

More than 200 participants came from many european countries (Spain, Italy, Denmark, Belgium, Swizterland, UK, Bulgaria, Poland, Netherlands, Portugal, Hungary, Austria, Norway) and overseas countries such as, USA, Canada, Colombia, Israel, Sudan, Algeria and Japan.

In addition to plenary sessions, posters and oral presentations by junior researchers were selected. Three awards (500 € each) were given after votes from all participants:

– the best poster to Stefania Magri (Institut Carlo Besta, Milan, Italy) for her work on mitochondrial defects in spastic paraplegia SPG7 ,

– the best Platform presentation of a Junior researcher to Matthis Synofzik (University of Tuebingen, Germany) for an original approach to improve the motor performance of ataxic patients, and

– the best Platform presentation for a student  to Marie Coutelier (CRicm U975, EPHE, France) for the identification of a new candidate gene responsible for spastic ataxia.

The organizers acknowledge the support of: patients associations (CSC, AFAF, ASL, AIViPS Onlus, HSP UK Support Group et Thomas Wahlig Siftung), the Mairie de Paris, the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes, the Ecole des Neurosciences de Paris (ENP), the DIM Cerveau et Pensée (Conseil Régional Ile-de-France and ENP), The Carnot-ICM institutes,  the 6th Framework programme of the European union (EUROSCA), Roche and GATC Biotech.